Saturdaze

I only have one day off this week and it was Saturday. Today. After twelve hours’ sleep I should have been bouncing around and ready to go, but I just felt awake. Or to be more accurate, I felt just awake.

Three mugs of tea later I was in the park with the dogs and feeling better for the fresh air and made myself an omelette when I got back. Two days ago my attempt to switch from a low fat hi carb diet to a low carb high fat one had been scuppered by dinner at an Italian restaurant and airline food. My cheese and mushroom omelette was all about getting me back on track and I knew it worked because I was as hungry when I finished it as when I started.

I managed to get a few things done, read a couple of chapters of the book I had been planing to read in its entirety on the plane and whose cover I had not even opened and then did the shopping. Whatever else I had thought I was going to get done today, I was wrong and about a minute after I lay on the couch I was asleep again. If only the drugs had been this powerful on the plane, although perhaps they were and it was just my fear that had worn off, allowing them to kick in with full force as their half-life ebbed away.

As I have to work tomorrow, sleep seemed like a good idea, so I grabbed yet another few hours during the afternoon. It was not unlike having a hangover, but without the hangover, just all the total lack of productivity that goes with it. Even though the day has effectively been a write-off, and doctors do not like prescribing Xanax, it is still probably a better solution for me than alcohol on an airplane. Alcohol can go either way with fear, and can sometimes do more to exaggerate it than reduce it. I am glad that in spite of the free booze in the club lounge that I had access to, I stuck with the Diet Coke.

Last weekend I watched Mistress America as the 99c movie but will post that review next Friday. In keeping with my general inability to get really motivated today, I watched Shaun of the Dead this evening. I have not seen it in a while and really enjoyed watching it again.

As I watched Simon Pegg and Nick Frost holed up in the Winchester, I had a parallel siege going on inside the house. Archie was convinced we had an internal border breach and was going bananas digging around in a corner of the room. That corner just happens to have an air vent in the wall, so it is possible that a mouse has used it to gain access. We have had a trap down there for some time. He dug around, tail lashing wildly but there was nothing there – or nothing I could see, and I pulled the CD case away from the will to check. Eventually he gave up and is now lying beside me as I look and the clock and know I need to get back to bed again. Although it is winter and the bed is comfortable and warm, I have to admit I am a little bored by sleeping right now, having done a load of it in the last 24 hours. I have no doubt though that I will be out cold soon after I lie down.

Tomorrow it is the open road as we head south. Let’s hope I will have slept it all off by then.

Leave a Reply

