Blue is the Longest Colour 

Adele is a young woman with large brown eyes that fill the screen. She is growing up in a modest home in France. Her parents are loving but meals are spent watching the TV, even though she loves literature at school. But Adele has a secret. She is confused and worried about something and can not decide what do do. It is her hair. Normally she ties it up in a bunch but invariably ends up taking it down, then putting it back up again. She just does not know what style suits her identity. Is she a wild free spirit with flowing locks, or a conservative mainstreamer with her hair tied back?

I watched Blue is the Warmest Colour today. I rented it ages ago when it was a 99c movie and it was about to expire so decided to sit and watch it after I had walked the dogs and had breakfast. The shopping could wait a while and my husband was at work.

I knew the film had attracted good reviews and had wowed at Cannes. I knew the film was about a relationship between two girls and knew it was French, which meant that it probably would not shy away from sex. What I did not know was that the director expected THREE hours of my time to tell his story. In fact, he seemed to expect more, as the movie’s title in French was Addele’s life, chapters 1&2. If he plans to bring out any further chapters, I will make sure I am not planning to go on any holidays before I start watching it.

Other than the length (I did end up taking a break at two hours ten) I did enjoy the film, although I did find the couple of lengthy sex scenes quite … long. I am not a hug fan of graphic material in films anyway. If we must have to watch people engaging in adult cuddling, then a couple of minutes is all we need to get the idea. The first scene is right bang (no pun intended) in the middle of the film at one hour thirty and goes on for at least six minutes. I know this because I got so impatient waiting for the scene to reach its, er climax that I fast forwarded the last bit, which resulted in the timeline for the movie being displayed on screen.

What the film does though, while it is spending a long time capturing the minutiae of Adele’s life, is to quite brilliantly deliver a portrayal of yearning – not just Adele’s yearning for Emma, the artist with the blue hair which gives the film its English title, but a yearning to find her sense of self, something she feels the second she lays eyes on the object of her attraction. Emma is everything that Adele is not. She is confident in her sexuality and identity, she has the support of her family and she is pursuing her passion as an artist in a community where she feels she belongs. Adele, meanwhile neither fits in to her own social background, or the one she finds with Emma and so her inability to settle her identity is as profound as her inability to stick with the ponytail she starts off with in the morning.

Recommended – but make sure you have three hours, or more to get through it.


Leave a Reply

