Desperately seeking Aid 

I joined another Netflix-type site recently for a moth free trial. So far, the trial is going well. The problem I have with these services is that they have a lot of TV content – al ot of which is great – but not half as many movies as I had hoped, and the movies drop off the schedule regularly, so you can not treat the service like an online library of favourites. The films are on demand as long as they are there, and then they will disappear without warnin I imagine this is to do with licensing. It would be more annoying if the service was any more expensive than it is, but at $10 per month when it costs $7.00 each time I rent a movie, it is not something I am likely to get over excited about.

The service is called Stan and I think it must be Australian (or for Australain liscensed content) because I have not heard it referred to by anyone else, in the way you hear Netflix referenced all the time by people who live in the UK or America.

Last Saturday I was flicking through the list of movies and found, ‘Desperately Seeking Susan,’ a movie I loved when it came out. I am not sure home many times I have seen it, but it enough to remember I really liked it and the music but long enough ago that I had forgotten how they set up the switch with the two main characters.

Madonna stars as Susan, the girlfriend of a permanently touring musician, Jimmy. She is a bit of a wild one – super cool, a bit of a thief and with a reputation of bringing trouble. Roseanna Arquette stars as Roberta, an unfulfilled housewife with a successful husband who is a dreamer and who follows Susan and Jimmy as they use the personal columns to meet, using the ad line, ‘Desperately Seeking Susan.’ When they come to her town, she decides to watch their reunion, which leads to a series of results resulting in indentity confusion, and danger for both her and the real Susan involving awful magic, the mob and Aiden Quinn looking absolutely gorgeous as a none too bright cinema projectionist.

The movie has the 1980s stamped all over it – the music by Madonna, in particular Get into the Groove, shoulder pads, bad hair ad the general feeling that ran through a few movies of that time that being a maverick and living just on the wrong side of that law was to be admired. I am not sure why I loved the movie so much when I watched it, but it can not just have been my age at the time because I loved it still when I watched it again last week. Perhaps it is that dream of restarting, of being able to recreate from scratch and of freeing yourself from material obsession – or maybe it was just Aiden Quinn. He did look quite sexy, and as one of my friends pointed out, always went in for a kiss with his mouth open.  The music also lends a certain tone to the film that makes it work and the women are the main characters. Woman are all about transformation – in fact one of the early scenes with Roberta takes place in a hairdressing and beauty salon – and transformation is what drives the movie. Also the role of Susan suits Madonna, she does not have many lines, but looks the part 100 percent and sells herself as the character.

It was well worth another watch, like visiting an old friend.  I Remembered how much i had enjoyed it, I had jut forgotten how much.

Leave a Reply

