Stone Cold Sober 

At the height of his fame, Lou ‘Minty’ McCloud was producing as many as forty albums a week. Dressed in his snakeskin boots, trademark jeans and always to the left, Minty’s music spoke of love and relationships with the many women he knew. His music connected across age and across boundaries of style and taste. Tonight Fifilab opens up the archives and pays tribute to the man as we celebrate the lyrics from one of his best known hits, ‘Stone Cold Sober on a Bouncy, Bouncy Flight.’

It’s twenty after midnight and I’m sitting here alone,
Flying through the air late at night.
This plane is called a Fokker, it’s reminding me of you 
I’m stone cold sober on a bouncy, bouncy flight.

Stone cold sober and I’m dying for a drink
Stone cold sober in my head 
The pilot’s lost and flying blind
I’m half losing all my mind
Can’t think how I went so wrong that you would want me dead.

You said you loved me dearly and you asked be to be yours
I said that I would promise to be true.
I guess I kind of lied, though when I slept with your best friend 
And then she made it awkward when she went and told you.

Stone cold sober and I’m dying for a drink
Stone cold sober and I’m broke.
The pilot’s lost and flying blind
I’m half losing all my mind.
I can’t believe you won’t believe that it was just a joke.

They say hell hath no fury and I did not even guess 
Quite how angry you would be that day.
You microwaved my passport and you smashed up my guitar
And hacked into my bank account and took out all my pay.

Stone cold sober and I’m sitting on this plane
Stone cold sober’s for the best
To put some space between us,
And settle all the fuss
Just in case you ever find out all about the rest.

Stone cold sober and you set my car on fire 
Stone cold sober all along.
The pilot’s lost and flying blind
I’m half losing all my mind
I just wish that I could work out what the hell that I’ve done wrong.

Leave a Reply

